What’s the story morning glory

image

In my journey so far, I’ve found that balancing training with family life is pretty hard.

On one hand, you have to give the distances of a marathon and a half iron distance triathlon respect. You can’t just turn up on event day without having put in the training effort and expect to be successful. After all, 26.2 miles of running is a long way. Completing a 70.3 mile triathlon is a really long way (although my Tri-Anglia club mates with full Iron Man races behind them may scoff at such an inflated statement). It’s quite simple really – the training has to be done. 

On the other hand, work, family, domestic chores and other activities are all important and compete for the hours of the day.

Like many others before me, I’ve found that the best way to balance training with the other demands of life is to get it done early.

My current training focus is the Brighton Marathon on April 17th and on my training days, I’m hitting the road at 6am. The alarm is like an angry wasp buzzing round my head at 5:45 and within 15 minutes, I’ve got the gear on I laid out the night before and I’m outside running. Admittedly I’m still in a groggy haze most of the time, but the run soon sorts that out.

To many people I know, the very idea of running at 6am is about as appealing as a poke in the eye with a pointy stick, but to me there really are merits to it.
Firstly, it gets the training done, dusted and in the bank before the family are even awake. I find that if I try to train in the evening, life often has a habit of getting in the way.

The other thing that’s great about training early is the experience of being outside at dawn.
The rising sun casting first light over the Norfolk countryside;  the low lying mist over the fields; the stillness and calm of the morning air; the gift of having the world to yourself (albeit just for a little while) because most sane people are still in bed. All this makes dragging my sorry carcass out of bed a little bit early worthwhile. And it means more time with my family and miles in the bank.  What could be better?

 

I’m running the Brighton Marathon and Holkham Outlaw Half raising funds for the East Anglian Air Ambulance. To donate, please visit my JustGiving page HERE

2 thoughts on “What’s the story morning glory

  1. Yep. Had the same thing: had to get up at 5.30am to train during the winter, so I could fit it round kids/work/life. I found it tough at first, then grew to love it. What I miss most is being able to train with a club. They all meet at times when I’m feeding the kids (or putting them to bed). Good luck fitting it all in! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Niki. Yes, it’s hard to train with a club with so many other things going on. I am a member of Tri-Anglia Triathlon Club, but I take advantage of about 0.5% of the training opportunities they offer. Looks like you’re training for some long distance running this year too. Good luck with your training!

      Like

Leave a Reply

